Michael Grover

White Pride

“White Pride” by David J. Thompson

The Muse Is Automatic

I have learned to live with Poetry
To dedicate my life to something
I have learned to be poor
Me & my books
Papers, pens, printed Poems everywhere
A painting by Jack Micheline on the wall
Because it makes me happy
It’s just a mess
A living breathing temple to Poetry
Now they tell me I can’t do this
Well they’d just like me to do it somewhere else
But the muse is automatic

Where will my library go
These books I’ve drug all over the country
So many books, so much magic
So many nights of companionship
More reliable than any person
Now they tell me I can’t do this
Well they’d just like me to do it somewhere else
But the muse is automatic
All these voices, these Poems
To translate this language
In all of this chaos
& make sense of it all

All of the music in my computer
Where will it go
Nowhere
All of that wonderful music
Vanishing into cyberspace
So many nights setting the mood
The mood of the Poem
Now they tell me I can’t do this
Well they’d just like me to do it somewhere else
But the muse is automatic
It just slips into that groove
Like breath

